2001 Vegetable Report
College of Agriculture & Life Sciences, The University of Arizona



Editor: David N. Byrne, Patti Baciewicz

Table of Contents

Introduction
Contributors


Introduction

We are continuing in our efforts to improve delivery of the results of our vegetable research in a timely fashion. This report provides the information concerning research conducted during the 2000 - 2001 growing season by The University of Arizona's College of Agriculture and Life Sciences (CALS) personnel. Authors of these reports are employed either at the county, regional or state levels.

There are five main parts to the 2001 Vegetable Report: Birds, Insects, Plant Pathogens, Variety Trials and Weeds. Within these sections you will find a reports on related subjects. For example, in the Plant Pathology Section you will find information concerning Sclerotinia, downy and powdery mildew. Information concerning pesticide resistance can be found in the Insect section.

If you have any suggestions concerning the format of this report, please contact me at (520) 621-7169 or byrne@ag.arizona.edu. If you have comments or questions concerning the contents of specific reports, it is suggested that you contact the individual authors. Their addresses, telephone numbers and e-mail addresses are listed.

If you have any comments concerning the direction of future vegetable research, please feel free to communicate these ideas to any of the authors of this report. They are members of the CALS Vegetable IPM Committee that meets several times per year. Once each year the Committee meets with the CALS Vegetable Advisory Committee to discuss research plans. This committee is made up of members of the private sector of the vegetable production community. You may also want to contact these individuals to make your feelings about CALS vegetable research known. The names of the 2000 CALS Vegetable Advisory Committee are: Art Anderson, Lin Evans, Steve Fenn, Bill Fox, Gaylan Goddard, Eddie Lopez, Todd Mayhew, Edwin Minch, Dennis Monypeny, Jeff Nigh, Craig Pauly, Rick Rademacher, Jesse Richardson and Steve Watkins.

We sincerely appreciate your support of our programs and hope that, with your help, they will continue to improve.

Recipients are encouraged to obtain the portions of this report in which they are interested by accessing this site. This is a pdf file and includes the entire text of all reports, but may exclude certain tables and figures. Additional printed versions may be obtained by contacting your local County Extension office.

These efforts are supported by Dean and Vice Provost Eugene G. Sander and Associate Director of Cooperative Extension Deborah J. Young.

David N. Byrne
Professor and Editor


Contributors

For further information on any of these reports, please contact the senior author(s) listed below:

David N. Byrne byrne@ag.arizona.edu 520/621-7169
Timothy J. Dennehy tdennehy@ag.arizona.edu 520/621-7124
David L. Kerns dkerns@ag.arizona.edu 520/782-3836
Michael E. Matheron matheron@ag.arizona.edu 520/726-0458
J. Kenneth Moulton kmoulton@ag.arizona.edu 520/621-4981
Mary Olsen molsen@ag.arizona.edu 520/626-2681
John C. Palumbo jpalumbo@ag.arizona.edu 520/782-3836
Barry Tickes btickes@ag.arizona.edu 928/726-3904
Kai Umeda kumeda@ag.arizona.edu 602/470-8086 x314
Mohammed Zerkoune zerkoune@ag.arizona.edu 520/726-3904



The University of Arizona is an Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action Employer. Any products, services, or organizations that are mentioned, shown, or indirectly implied in this publication do not imply endorsement by the University of Arizona.
Document located http://ag.arizona.edu/pubs/crops/az1252/index.html
published
August, 2001
Return to College publication list