Faculty

Department Head
Contact Mission Interests
Kitt Farrell-Poe, PhD Kitt Farrell-Poe
Water Quality Specialist & Professor

Shantz 417
kittfp@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-9120

Water Resources Onsite Wastewater Education, Safe Drinking Water Education
Faculty
Contact Mission Interests
Lingling An
Associate Professor

Shantz 501a
anling@email.arizona.edu
(520) 621-1248

Biometry & Biosystems Informatics Statistical Bioinformatics, Computational Biology
Pedro Andrade
Associate Specialist & Professor

Maricopa Ag Center
pandrade@ag.arizona.edu
(520) 568-2273

Food, Bioproducts, & Renewable Energy Precision Agriculture
Joel Cuello
Professor

cuelloj@email.arizona.edu
(520) 621-7757
Shantz Building, Room 507
 

Controlled Environment Agriculture, Food, Bioproducts, & Renewable Energy BioImagineering: Innovations for People & the Planet, Algae Innovations for Food, Nutraceuticals & Biofuels, Vertical Farming 2.0, Strategic Social Agriculture,
Kamel Didan
Associate Professor

didan@email.arizona.edu
(520) 621-8514
Shantz Building, Room 501-A
https://vip.arizona.edu

Controlled Environment Agriculture, Food, Bioproducts, & Renewable Energy, Water Resources Remote Sensing, Geospatial Data Analysis, Climate Change, Vegetation Phenology, Precision Agriculture, Development of Algorithms, Data, and methods for Natural Resource Management and Monitoring, Food security under a changing climate
Gene Giacomelli
Professor

CEAC
giacomel@ag.arizona.edu
(520) 626-9566

Biometry & Biosystems Informatics, Controlled Environment Agriculture, Food, Bioproducts, & Renewable Energy Greenhouse Design, Nutrient Delivery Systems, Climate Control Technologies
Bonnie Hurwitz
Assistant Professor

Shantz
bhurwitz@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-9819

Biometry & Biosystems Informatics Systems Biology, Functional Metagenomics, Big Data, Bioinformatics, Computational Biology
Murat Kacira
Professor

Shantz 504   
CEAC
mkacira@cals.arizona.edu
(520) 626-4254

Biometry & Biosystems Informatics, Controlled Environment Agriculture, Food, Bioproducts, & Renewable Energy Greenhouse and Plant Growth Studies, Plant Growth and Health Monitoring Using Image Processing and Machine Vision Applications, Automated Data Acquisition and Instrumentation, Greenhouse Ventilation
Dr. Sara Kuwahara
Lecturer

ABE Instructor - ABE 201 & ABE/CHEE 481a,581a
Department of Agricultural and Biosystems Eng.
University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ

Food, Bioproducts, & Renewable Energy, Water Resources
Edward Martin
Director of the Maricopa County Extension Office, Specialist, & Professor

Maricopa County Office
ecmartin@email.arizona.edu
(602) 827-8232

Water Resources Irrigation
Stephen Poe
Professor & Specialist

Shantz 501a
spoe@ag.arizona.edu
(520) 621-5879

Controlled Environment Agriculture, Water Resources Landscape Irrigation
Mark Siemens
Associate Specialist & Professor

Yuma Ag Center
siemens@cals.arizona.edu
(928) 782-3836

Food, Bioproducts, & Renewable Energy Specialty Crop Mechanization and Automation, Agricultural Machinery and Equipment, Conservation Tillage Systems
Donald C. Slack
Professor

Shantz 627
slackd@email.arizona.edu
(520) 621-7230

 

Biometry & Biosystems Informatics, Food, Bioproducts, & Renewable Energy, Water Resources On-farm Water Management Practices, Irrigation Systems and Technologies, Watershed Hydrology, Erosion Control, Biofuels from Sorghum
Stacy Tollefson
Professor Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering

Stacy Tollefson is working with Dr. Giacomelli, Dr. Kacira, and Dr. Jensen (emeritus prof). She gained experience as the Greenhouse Manager for Dr. Rorabaugh's teaching greenhouse for 2 years and continues to oversee pest and disease management for that greenhouse and other CEAC projects. She was a USDA National Needs Fellow for 3 years and an NSF GK-12 Fellow for 1 year. Her interests include integrated pest management, organic production methods, aquaponics, and education and outreach. Her research project focuses on the use of compost teas to suppress soil-borne pathogens. She recieved her Ph.D in December 2014. Her teaching responsibilities include PLS 217 Introduction to Hydroponics, PLS 397B Advanced Hydroponics, and ENTO 497C/EIS 597C Greenhouse Pest Management: Methods & 

Controlled Environment Agriculture
Peter Waller
Associate Professor

Shantz 530
pwaller@email.arizona.edu
(520) 621-2896
(520) 440-5803

Food, Bioproducts, & Renewable Energy, Water Resources Irrigation and drainage systems design and management, Modeling the surface energy balance and algae growth in algae raceways
Muluneh Yitayew
Professor

Shantz 533/531
myitayew@email.arizona.edu
(520) 621-7232

 

 

Food, Bioproducts, & Renewable Energy, Water Resources Hydraulics, Hydrology, Irrigation Engineering, Geospatial Analysis of Natural Resource Systems
Jeong-Yeol Yoon
Professor

Marley 541J
jyyoon@email.arizona.edu
(520) 621-3587

Biometry & Biosystems Informatics, Food, Bioproducts, & Renewable Energy Biosensors for:, Medical Diagnostics, Air Quality, Tissue Engineering and Organ-on-a-chip, Food Safety and Water Quality, Fast PCR
Jointly Appointed Faculty
Contact
Jennifer Barton
Professor, BME

Interim Vice President for Research, Professor; Biomedical Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Optical Sciences, Agriculture, and Biosystems Engineering.
http://azcc.arizona.edu/profile/jennifer-barton
(520) 621-4116

 

Guohong Jennifer Duan
Associate Professor, Hydraulics & Hydrology

gduan@email.arizona.edu

(520) 626-5946

 

Kevin Fitzsimmons
Professor, SWES

Environmental Research Lab 
phone (520) 626-3324
fax (520) 573-0852
kevfitz@ag.arizona.edu

Edward Franklin
Associate Professor, Agricultural Education

Campus Agricultural Center
eafranklin@ag.arizona.edu
(520) 940-3718

Richard (Pete) Hawkins
Professor, SNRE

Bio East
520-621-7273
rhawkins@ag.arizona.edu

 

Chieri Kubota
Professor, Plant Sciences

Professor - The School of Plant Sciences, Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering, Bio5
CEA 102 / Forbes 209
ckubota@ag.arizona.edu

(520) 626-8833

Kim Ogden
Professor, BME

JWH 108C
(520) 621-9484
ogden@email.arizona.edu

 

Ian Pepper
Professor, SWES

Environmental Research Laboratory
pepper@ag.arizona.edu
(520) 626-3328
(520) 626-8292

 

 

Walter Piegorsch
Professor of Mathematics, Public Health, and Agricultural & Biosystems Engineering

KEAT 241
piegorsch@math.arizona.edu
(520) 621-2357

Akrum Tamimi
Associate Research Scientist, SWES

Gerba Lab
akrumt@email.arizona.edu
(520) 621-6163

Emeritus
Contact
Chris Choi
Delmar Fangmeier
Martin Fogel

Hydrology and Water Resource

Ken Foster

Director of Arid Lands

Kathryn Hatch
Stuart Hoenig
Simon Ince

Hydrology and Water Resource

Dennis Larson
Gerald Matlock
Robert Roth
Professor, Interim Resident Director of MAC

Maricopa Agricultural Center
rlr3@email.arizona.edu
(520) 381-2203

Frank Wiersma
1921-2014 Werner Zimmt
Adjunct Professor

Professor Zimmt passed away on 12 September 2014, but he will always be a part of ABE at the UofA.