The University of Arizona

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

Faculty Development

 

Click here to access the diagram of the proposed skill sets for our graduates.

 

The Bart Cardon Academy for Teaching Excellence

 

Goal: To promote, recognize, discuss and celebrate teaching excellence, toward the goal of the continual improvement of the College academic programs.  

 

 

Mission: The Academy affirms that teaching is a significant intellectual/scholarly activity, and will help advance models of teaching that foster deep and lasting understanding by students.   Members of the Academy will provide a variety of services to the teaching mission of the College, including sponsoring teaching workshops, mentoring new faculty and Teaching Assistants, promoting and evaluating recipients of teaching awards, and generally providing guidance to faculty interested in improving their teaching effectiveness.  In addition, Academy members will be asked to provide guidance to the Office of Academic Programs on faculty development and curriculum by providing advocacy, service and advice on teaching matters.

 

 

Membership: The inaugural class of six members was chosen from College faculty who have won national, regional, university or major College awards for teaching excellence, and has provided extraordinary service to the teaching mission of the College.  New members will be elected to the academy by current members, with no more than six new members being admitted in any given year.






                                                              Bart Cardon Fellows (Current Fellows)  
Name Building Office Phone # Email
Betsy Arnold Marley 822D 520-621-7212 arnold@ag.arizona.edu
Randy Burd Administration Building 601 520-626-1863 rburd@email.arizona.edu
Jim Hunt Forbes 211C 520-626-3631 jeh@email.arizona.edu
Matt Mars Saguaro Hall 205 520-621-1523 mmars@email.arizona.edu
Mitch McClaran Biological Sciences East 112 520-621-1673 mcclaran@email.arizona.edu
Dennis Ray Forbes 415D 520-621-7612 dtray@email.arizona.edu
Jennifer Ricketts Shantz 236 520-621-6999 jrickett@email.arizona.edu
Robert Torres Saguaro Hall 205 520-621-1523 rtorres1@email.arizona.edu
Paul Wilson McClelland Park 304G 520-621-6258 pwilson@ag.arizona.edu
Tom Wilson Slonaker 121 520-621-9308 tbw@email.arizona.edu
         
                                                               Bart Cardon Fellows (Fellow Emeritus)  
         
Wanda Howell       whhowell@ag.arizona.edu
James Knight       jknight@ag.arizona.edu
James Riley       jjriley@ag.arizona.edu