Norton Faculty Brings SRA Working Group to UA

Society for Research on Adolescence (SRA) Working Groups to Envision the Future of our Science is a new SRA initiative to sponsor working groups seeking to advance the science of adolescence by systematically envisioning specific domains of future research.

No Longer at the Margins: Envisioning the Integration of an Intersectional Lens in Developmental Science, organized and lead by Russell Toomey (University of Arizona) and Carlos Santos (Arizona State University) will be hosted at the Norton School in April 2016.

Overview: The developmental sciences can no longer ignore youth who were once conceptualized as inhabiting the margins. As demographics and social trends in the U.S. continue to change at a rapid pace, we must attend to the intersectional and interlocking experiences among young people who embody various forms of diversity such as racial/ethnic, linguistic, sexual, gender, geospatial, and socioeconomic diversity. If we are to tackle ways to address critical issues affecting diverse youths of today (e.g., lack of access to opportunities), we must confront the ways in which developmental science can transform itself to better address the structural oppressions that shape developmental inequities and affordances, and the intersecting nature of these oppressions. Our interdisciplinary working group (e.g., American studies, developmental sciences, family sciences, social and community psychology, sociology) will bring an intersectional lens to envision the future of our science, with a focus on adolescent development and well-being. We draw from leading conceptual frameworks in the field and plan several conceptual, review, and methodological/measurement publications over the two-year period. Our group’s progress and findings will be presented at SRA in 2018.

Participants: Aprile Benner and Stephen Russell (University of Texas at Austin); April Few-Demo (Virginia Tech); Negin Ghavami (UCLA); Erin Godfrey and Hirokazu Yoshikawa (New York University); Patrick Grzanka and Jioni Lewis (University of Tennessee-Knoxville); Silvia Koller (Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul); Jonathan Mohr (University of Maryland); Luis Parra (University of California, Davis); Paul Poteat (Boston College); Valerie Purdie-Vaughns (Columbia University); Andrea Romero (University of Arizona); and Moin Syed (University of Minnesota).

Attendance by invitation only - contact Dr. Russ Toomey,

News Contact: 
Dr. Russ Toomey
Contact Email: 
Contact Us:

Institutes and Centers

The University of Arizona