The School of Plant Sciences is a vigorous, cutting-edge, and comprehensive academic unit of the University of Arizona, whose scientists are devoted to the study of plants, the organisms that underpin the survival of terrestrial life. Research programs within the School examine how plants grow, how they respond to their environment, how they evolved, how they can be manipulated, and their fungal, bacterial, and viral interactions. more...

Support Plant Sciences



Mon, 04/24/2017 - 3:00pm
Barry Goldman (Seminar)
Plant-Microbiome Engineering to Influence Agricultural Practice
Mon, 04/24/2017 - 4:00pm
Paul Kachapulula (Seminar)
Caterpillars, fish and undomesticated fruits: the wild side of Aspergillus
Tue, 05/02/2017 - 4:00pm
Andrew Leakey (Seminar)

Congratulations to Alexander Schaller, recipient of the 2016 National Greenhouse Manufacturers Association Scholarship! Alexander is a major in the Sustainable Plant Systems graduating in May 2017. For more information on the award, follow this link

Alexander Schaller, an undergraduate student in the Sustainable Plant Systems received recognition at the 2016 Annual Meeting of the American Society for Horticultural Sciences in Atlanta, Georgia.

More than 220 scientists from 26 countries gathered in Tucson to review the state of art in the plant reproduction research and to identify ways to translate the key findings from model plants to crops. Read more at CyVerse.org

Dr. Mohammad Pessarakli has been selected as a 2015 Outstanding Faculty Award recipient by the Asian American Faculty, Staff, and Alumni Association (AAFSAA) for his exemplary professional accomplishments and noteworthy contributions to the University and community at large. The award will be presented on November 7, 2015. Congratulations, Dr. Pessarakli!

Dr. Mark Beilstein is the winner of the 2014 Undergraduate Biology Research Program Outstanding Mentor award. He was nominated by his students Poorva Rajguru, Jordan Brock, and Ari Meldrum. The award was presented in the 26th Annual UBRP Conference in January 2015. Congratulations, Dr. Beilstein!